[ ARS Logo ]
Amherst Railway Society, Home Page
General Info
Calendar of Events
Membership information and application including map to meeting location
Amherst Railway Society Railroad Hobby Show
 Amherst Belt Lines

Amherst Railway Society
September 19, 2006
Meeting Announcement

Welcome to the 2006-2007 season. The next meeting of the Amherst Railway Society will be Tuesday, September 19, 8:00 p.m. at the Amherst Middle School.

The Flying Yankee
By Paul Giblin

This presentation will take us through the history, restoration and future use of the famous B&M #6000, also known as the Flying Yankee. After operating in northern New England from 1935 to 1957 and covering 2.75 million miles, the diesel-electric Streamliner was donated to the Edaville Railroad in Carver, MA for one dollar where it sat for nearly 45 years as a static display - unprotected and unsecured. In 2006, with the restoration of the Flying Yankee now more than 50% complete, we’ll discuss the colorful history of this magnificent train, what’s been done so far to restore it as well as what’s left to be completed and what the future holds regarding the eventual operation and mission of the historic Flying Yankee.

Mr. Giblin has been involved with managing the Flying Yankee restoration project since January 2004 - initially as a consultant to the Flying Yankee Restoration Group. In November of 2005 however, Mr. Giblin was invited to join the organization as a full-time employee in the capacity of the organization’s President. His current responsibilities include development and management of all operations, marketing, education, public relations and fundraising activities; working closely with the state of NH Dept. of Transportation and the Plymouth & Lincoln Railroad on all efforts pertaining to the restoration of the Flying Yankee and working with state, local and regional officials to ensure future operational needs and requirements are in place to support the eventual operation and maintenance of the Flying Yankee once the restoration effort has been completed.

Election of Officers took place on June 20, 2006. The results are as follows:

President: Sudro Brown
Vice-President: Ira Laby
Secretary: Janet Moore

Directors: Peter Veneman
Harvey Allen
Alan Rice

David Royce continues as the appointed Treasurer.

Members volunteering for the Refreshment Committee are Doug Moore, Janet Moore and Ira Laby.

Copyright (c) Amherst Railway Society